All Collections
Webex Specific Features
Control Hub: Organization Settings
Control Hub: Organization Settings
Tomas Tarasovic avatar
Written by Tomas Tarasovic
Updated today

Webex Control Hub admins can control who has access to Vidcast, but they can also enable specific features on a user, group, or organization level. This article will highlight settings at the organization level.

Settings at the organization level

To change settings for the whole organization, sign in to Control Hub and navigate to the Vidcast tab within Services and select Settings.

Control hub organization settings screenshot

Access

  • Allow Vidcast Access- When toggled off, all users in your organization will not be able to access Vidcast platform.

  • Allow Vidcast Recording- When toggled off, all users in your organization will not be able to record videos with Vidcast.

  • Allow Commenting - When toggled off, audience will not be able to comment on videos recorded within your organization.

Click on the thumbnail below to watch a Vidcast demonstration of Access Controls

Access Controls demo

Webex Integration

  • Allow Importing of Webex Meetings - When toggled on, this allows all users in your organization to import their Webex meeting recordings into Vidcast.

  • Show Vidcast in Webex Sidebar - When toggled on, users will see Vidcast tab in the Webex app, through which they will be able to access Vidcast.

  • Enable Vidcast recording in Webex Messaging - When toggled on, users will be able to record to space in Webex app.

AI Features

  • Enable highlights generation - When toggled off, users in your organization will not be able to utilize AI highlights for their videos (coming soon).

  • Enable chapters generation - When toggled off, users in your organization will not be able to utilize smart chapters for their videos (coming soon).


Data Management

  • Allow Video Downloads - When toggled off, no users will be able to download their videos

  • Allow External Sharing - When toggled off, all recorded Vidcasts will be restricted to your organization

  • Allow External Uploads - This allows users to upload their external videos to Vidcast.

Note that the External Upload function is a premium feature, available only by request for Enterprise Webex Suite Subscribers. If you do not see the video upload button even after Allow external uploads toggle is on, contact us to confirm your eligibility for this feature. (help@vidcast.io)

Sharing Permissions

By default, all Vidcast videos are restricted to user's domain after recording/ import/ upload. CH admins can further change these default permissions for their organization.

screenshot of Sharing permissions in Control hub

Available permissions include:

  1. Restricted- Default setting, videos will be only accessible by users with the same domain as a creator, or any domains set by CH admins

  2. Open link- Accessible by any viewer with a link, regardless of their domain

  3. Private- Accessible only by the creator

Please note that these settings only affect the default permissions after recording/import/upload. Creators can change these permissions for each individual video. If you would prefer your users not to share videos externally, you can toggle off Allow External Sharing in the Data management section.

CH admins can further specify to which domains videos in their organization will be restricted to. Edit default domains will allow them to select from their claimed domains, choose all of their organization's claimed domains, or even type and external domain.

screenshot of default domains window in control hub

Video Retention

CH admins can set a retention period for recorded Vidcast videos within their organization. This setting is only applicable on the organization level. Check out this Vidcast for a quick demonstration.

Video Retention
  • Default duration (unlimited days) - Vidcast recordings will be deleted only when users delete recordings from their trash folder. At that point, recordings will be removed from the user's UI. We then retain them on the backend for 60 days before a permanent deletion.

  • Custom duration - Vidcast recordings will be automatically deleted from both the user's UI and the backend after the specified period of time (can be set between 7-3600 days).

When custom duration is selected, there will be no notification informing users that their recordings will be/were deleted. We highly recommend admins to communicate any changes to video retention policies internally.

Classifications

Classifications are specific tags that can be applied to a video for easy identification within Control Hub.

Classifications

When enabled, users will see an additional screen after recording a video where they can add a classification tag from a list that you've created. When required, adding one of these tags will be mandatory and users will not be able to save their video until doing so.

Select tags

The Configure classifications button is where you'll create and/or edit these tag options

Configure classifications

Languages

CH admins can set up auto-translated closed captions and transcripts that will be available for every video recorded under their organization. On top of English, up to four different languages can be selected. This setting is only applicable on the organization level.

Languages

New languages can be added by clicking on Configure languages and selecting them from the menu. These can then be removed by ticking the box next to the language abbreviation and clicking on delete.

Configure languages

Once configured, viewers will then see these language options for their closed captions and transcripts

Configure languages

screenshot of transcript language controls

Please note that any change to this setting will only affect future recordings/ imports. Previous recordings will reflect the settings that were in place at the time of their creation.


Questions? Start a chat with our support team or reach us at help@vidcast.io

Did this answer your question?